Ang Prinsesang TagLish

What are you most thankful for?

Posted on: October 23, 2008

We always complain about the things we don’t have and the things we want to have. We even complain about the things we already have. Humans live most of their lives complaining about something, right? I mean, I do. Most of the time.

But then, I am sure that there is something in our lives that we could also be thankful for, right? I just refuse to believe that there is one person in this world who has nothing to be thankful for whatsoever. I mean, it just can’t be. There is always something.

Have you ever been thankful for the air you breathe? Or perhaps the water you drink? Or the piece of land you call home? Or have you not thought that these things are important enough for you to notice them?

Being asthmatic, I am always thankful for the air I breathe. Every single gulp of oxygen I take is an extension to my life. With most of the world polluted, I am lucky enough that I could still have as much oxygen as I need.

Of course, I know for a fact that the world has a very limited fresh water supply and that it is diminishing rapidly. That is why, I think we should be thankful for every drop of drinking water we could get. Just imagine life without water? Could you?

There are so many things in life that we could be thankful for. Like the privilege of education, not everybody can go to school and a lot of people in the world are illiterate because they were less fortunate than us.

I am also thankful for my body, thankful that I had been given two hands, two feet, a functioning brain, and a normal body with no physical deformity. Just imagine if you were born without an eyesight, or without arms or feet or just one part of your body missing. I guess it would be too hard to survive.

Of course, I also have to be thankful for all the material things I have. I don’t have the latest cell phone model or a PSP or other possessions of luxury which I would gladly want to have but I am thankful that at least I have something which others don’t have. At least, I don’t have to beg in the streets so I could eat, I don’t have to live under the bridge or on the sidewalks. At least I could still eat my favorite french fries and burger instead of gazing longingly at the windows of Jollibee or McDonald’s like what street children does.

I am thankful for the comfortable bed where I sleep at night, for the extra penny to buy my favorite books or log-in in an internet cafe. I am thankful for the chance to reach college, to study in a university, to be provided with all the things I need. If there is one thing more I am most thankful for, it is the fact that even though I can’t have everything I want, I could still have what I need.

If I would ever go hungry it is by choice not because I do not have a choice. If ever I don’t have a roof on my head at night it would also be by choice and not because I am a homeless beggar who doesn’t have any other option but to sleep in the streets.

Of course, I am also thankful for the people I have around me. I am thankful for having parents who allows me to choose my own path and hurdle my challenges instead of choosing my path for me. I am thankful for having friends who, I may quarrel with from time to time but will always be there when I need them. For my family, who may not always understand why I do things the way I do but will always be willing to support me when the going gets tough.

You may not believe it but I am thankful that I was born a Filipino. Being Filipinos, we grew u exposed to many cultures. We have a rich history, a country teeming with beauty nature has so generously bestowed. We are a talented race, a race resilient even in the face of whatever adversity, a race bestowed with the gift of beauty, skill, ingenuity and intelligence. Yes, Filipinos are intelligent people, we just have to work hard on it.

And most of all, I am thankful that God gave me the chance to live. I am thankful for being placed in this part of the world with these kind of people I am with. I am always thankful for  the experiences I had to undergo, it made me stronger and I hope better. I always believe that God has a purpose with my life, I just have to find out what.

Yes, there are a lot of things to be thankful for. You just have to look beyond what you don’t have and focus on what you have to know that life’s little blessings does exist.

Leave a Reply

in this corner

My hits

  • 5,475 hits

Categories

Web Activities

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
