Ang Prinsesang TagLish

The unfairness of it all

Posted on: April 20, 2009

It is an undeniable fact that the world was never meant to be fair and the world was never really fair. It is also an accepted fact that in this unfair world you have to, inevitably, deal with the injustices brought about by this unfairness; with the insecurities of the people around you and even your very own, with the shallow-mindedness of people with which this unfairness sprung and of course, the favoritism.

Favoritism, also known as partiality or prejudice, is the apparent show of affection in favor of an individual or a group more than the other. Or at least that is how I would describe it.

In reality, you can’t really do anything about it. All of us are bias about something at one point or another. All of us have favorites. And deep inside all of us, nobody really expects people to be fair.

So I guess, though I am always seething with anger for the apparent favoritism, I will not even cry “unfair” or demand fairness from anybody. I guess what I really want to do now and probably the sole purpose of this writing is that, I just want to express my outrage or at least my present feeling on this matter.

Though I wanted so much to cry out unfair in bold letters, I know that it would all be in vain. I mean, it is of course unfair, a lot of things has been unfair for so long now and for so long I had kept my silence. For sometime now I prefer to close my eyes and pretend that I am not affected by the unfairness of it all. For sometime now I chose to be silent instead of heaping a plateful of condemnation to all the injustices that has been happening around me. But at some point we have to vent out what we feel and hope to God that the people concerned has the common sense enough to realize that they have been unfair.

Why don’t I just tell them directly? You might ask. I want to do it of course and nobody will be shock if I do because anyway, people always know I am one tactless, insensitive bitch who often speak words without thinking if it would hurt others or not. Well, maybe I really am like that but I guess its better that I am, at last I don’t have to force myself to smile at people I don’t like.

But anyway, back to what I am saying.

I prefer to keep silent because, tact and sensitivity may not be my strongest suit but I still have the common sense to know what will happen if I do so. I am not really concerned with my self; I am more concerned with the others.

But what I really want to say is that, if you favor somebody over the other you may at least try to be a little bit subtle about it. You don’t need to be blatant about how you feel because the people around you are not blind or made of stone not to feel the discrimination. And by the way, favoritism shows even if you don’t say it. I guess its one of the best examples of the line, “Action speaks louder than words”.

Leave a Reply

in this corner

My hits

  • 5,475 hits

Categories

Web Activities

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
